Skip to content

Tree of Jesus Life the Christ of Prophecy 2

February 25, 2013

 

I knew that there was a lot in the Old Testament about the foretelling of Jesus coming, but I guess I had not taken the time to look it all up. I know this is long but well worth the reading just to see how God was telling His people that He was going to send His only Son. Hope you enjoy it and find it as interesting as I did.

Monarchical Period

Kingdom Established 1051 B.C.? Psalm 2. 1. Why do the nations conspire and the peoples plot in vain? 2. The Kings of earth rise up and the rulers band together against the Lord and against his anointed, saying 3. “Let us break their chains and throw off their shackles.” 4. The one enthroned in heaven laughs; the Lord scoffs at them. 5. He rebukes them in his anger and terrifies them in his wrath, saying 6. “I have installed my king on Zion, my holy mountain.” 7. I will proclaim the Lord’s decree: He said to me, “You are my son; today I have become you farther. 8. Ask me, and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession. 9. You will break them with a rod of iron; you will dash them to pieces like property.” 10. Therefore, you kings, be wise; be warned, you rulers of the earth. 11. Serve the Lord with fear and celebrate his rule with trembling. 12. Kiss his son, or he will be angry and your way will lead to your destruction, for his wrath can flare up in a moment. Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

Psalm 16:10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay. Psalm 45:2 You are the most excellent of men and your lips have been anointed with grace, since God has blessed you forever. Psalm 68:18 When you ascended on high, you took many captives: you received gifts from people, even from the rebellious- that you, Lord God might dwell there. Psalm 69:21 They put gall in my food and gave me vinegar for my thirst. Psalm 110:1 The Lord said to my lord: “Sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet. Psalm 118:22 The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone: Psalm 132:11 The Lord swore an oath to David, a sure oath he will not revoke: “One of your own dependents I will place on your throne. Isaiah 2:4 He will judge between the nations and will settle disputes for many peoples. They will beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks. Nation will not take up sword against nation, nor will they train for war anymore. Isaiah 7:14 Therefor the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel. Isaiah 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Farther, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 11:1 A shoot ill come up from the stump of Jesse; from his roots a Branch will bear fruit. Isaiah 28:16 So this is what the Sovereign Lord says: :See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who relies on it will never be stricken with panic. Isaiah 42:1 Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will bring justice to the nations.

Isaiah 53 1. Who has believed our message? Ant two whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed? 2. For He grew before Him like a tender shoot, And like a root out of parched ground; He has no stately form or majesty that we should look upon Him, Nor appearance that we should be attracted to Him. 3. He was despised and forsaken of men, A man of sorrows and acquainted with grief; And like one from whom men hide their face He was despised, and we did not esteem Him. 4. Surely are grief He Himself bore, And our sorrows He carried; yet we ourselves esteemed Him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. 5. But He was pierced through for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; The chastening for our well-being fell upon Him, And by His scourging we are healed. 6. All of us like sheep have gone astray, Each of us has turned to his own way; But the Lord has caused the iniquity of us all to fall on Him. 7. He was oppressed and He was afflicted, yet He did not open His mouth; Like a lamb that is led to slaughter, and like a sheep that is silent before its shearers, so He did not open His mouth. 8. By oppression and judgment He was taken away; And as for His generation, who considered that He was cut off out of the land of the living for the transgression of mu people, to whom the stroke was due? 9. His grave was assigned with wicked men, yet He was with a rich man in His death, because He had done no violence, nor was there ant deceit in His mouth. 10. But the Lord was pleased to crush Him, putting Him to grief; if He would render Himself as a guilt offering. He will see His offspring, He will prolong His days, and the good pleasure of the Lord will prosper in His hand. 11. As a result of the anguish of His soul, He will see it and be satisfied; By His knowledge the Righteous One, My Servant, will justify the many, as He will bear their iniquities. 12. Therefore, I will allot Him a portion with the great, And He will divide the booty with the strong; Because He poured out Himself to death, And was numbered with the transgressors; Yet He Himself bore the sin of many, And interceded for the transgressors.

Isaiah 59:16 And He saw that there was no man, And was astonished that there was no one to intercede; Then His own arm brought salvation to Him, And His righteousness upheld Him. Isaiah 61:1 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, Because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the afflicted; He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to captives and freedom to prisoners; Isaiah 63:1 Who is this who comes from Edom. With garments of glowing colors from Bozrah, this One who is majestic in His apparel, marching in the greatness of His strength? “It is I who speak in righteousness, mighty to save.” Jeremiah 23:5 “Behold the days are coming,” declares the Lord, when I will rise up for David a righteous branch; and He will reign as king and act wisely and do Justice and righteousness in the land. Daniel 9:25 So you are to know and discern that from the issuing of a decree to restore and rebuild Jerusalem until Messiah the Prince there will be seven weeks and sixty-two weeks; it will be built again, with plaza and moat, even in times of distress. Micah 5:2 “But as for you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, Too little to be among the clans of Judah, From you One will go forth for Me to be ruler in Israel. His goings forth are from long ago, From the days of eternity.”

Period of Foreign Rule

Captivity of Israel 587/6B.C. Haggai 2:7 I will shake all the nations; and they will come with the wealth of all nations, and I will fill this house with glory; says the Lord of hosts. Zechariah 3:8 Now listen, Joshua the high priest, you and your friends who are setting in front of you-indeed they are men who are a symbol, for behold, I am going to bring in My servant the Branch. Zechariah 6:12 Then say to him, ’Thus says the Lord of hosts, “Behold, a man whose name is Branch, for He will branch out from where He is; and He will build the temple of the Lord. Zechariah 9:9 Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout in triumph, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your king is coming to you; He is just and endowed with salvation, Humble, and mounted on a donkey, Even on a colt, the foal of a donkey. Zechariah 11:12 I said to them, “If it is good in your sight, give me my wages; but if not, never mind!” So they weighed out thirty shekels of silver as my wages. Zechariah 12:10 I will pour out on the house of David and on the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the Spirit of grace and of supplication, so that they will look on Me whom they have pierced; and they will mourn for Him, as one mourns for an only son, and they will weep bitterly over Him like the bitter weeping over the firstborn. Zechariah 13:7 “Awake, O sword, against My Shepherd, and against the man, My Associate,” Declares the Lord of hosts. “Strike the Shepherd that the sheep may be scattered; And I will turn My hand against the little ones. Malachi 3:1 “Behold, I am going to send My messenger, and he will clear the way before Me. And the Lord, whom you seek, will suddenly come to His temple; and the messenger of the covenant, in whom you delight, behold, He is coming,” says the Lord of hosts.

The Maccabean Period 166-63 B. C.

The Birth of Christ 4 B.C.

 

 

5 Comments
  1. Thank you for your comment and I am pleased that you have read this word from the Bible. I am no expert in any way but have just felt led to share his Holy word to all that will listen. Have a blessed day
    Yes and that is why He was letting them know that they were getting way off base and so He was sending His Son to live amongst them to help them see the way the truth and the life. He loved the people just as He loves us for we as a nation- world have turned our backs on Him and that is why I believe as He has said is going to send His Son again to bring us all home.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Lord Has A Controversy With The Nations! Are You Listening? « vineoflife.net
  2. Verse of the Day 4-5-13 Isaiah 59:1-2 | ricklee's poetry plus
  3. Prophecy: The Lamb with Two Horns | someonewholovesjesus
  4. Verse of the Day 4-7-13 Isaiah 61:1-2 | ricklee's poetry plus

Leave a Reply

Imaginateweb

Heart of gold, stardust soul. Wearing a smile like a loaded gun.

Minnesota Yogini

Fitness - Photography - Motherhood - Adventure - Inspiration

Amazing Tangled Grace

A blog about my spiritual journey in the Lord Jesus Christ.

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Rethinking Life

Art and the philosophy of life

Esther's blog

"Writing is the strip tease of the soul" - Anne Marie. My writings. My Life. Poems, Prose Fiction, Personal journals.

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

Maeharlika

People, Places, Arts & Crap... mostly crap

Safira's Journey

Create Your Own Happiness

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

GISELA

visând cu ochii deschiși

Habeebaty Writes

Just a girl with a pen

The Travelling Diary Of a Dippy-Dotty Girl

She travels so that the world may not escape her

MissTalkaholic

My Hands Talk Better!

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

